top of page

DUNEDIN: 3 WEEKS OF HOUSESITTING ADVENTURE...

...that went way too fast. I guess it always happens when one is having too much fun. During those three weeks we were given all sorts of weather apart from the summer one we were looking forward to. I might have never seen so much rain in my life and some days if I was not careful enough, with that horrendous, 150-km-per-hour wind I could have easily fly high up the sky.

Oh well, people plan, weather changes and there were still plenty to do. Every day, for example, I had to walk my doggie, Lucy. She was very old and slow so I could not really take her hiking but we always walked to feed the chickens (I had 6 of them and they liked to dig tunnels under the fence and run away) and back home. I also had two cats – one was grey and little, the other one had fluffy hair the colour of sand, miaowed noisily and always looked grumpy. But I liked them both and they both liked me (at least that is what I think).

My little mansion with high ceilings, countless rooms, 3 bathrooms and 3 lounges (mum shut the door of most of them right away and my lovely animals and I were only allowed to use a tiny little part of the house) was actually in Mosgiel about 15 kilometres from Dunedin, but I got to explore heaps.

I loved the tuis, bellbirds and takahes in the Orokonui Sanctuary with easy walks in a beautiful native bush as well as Sinclair Wetlands with boardwalks and little dragonflies. The walk up to the Flagstaff summit along the Pineapple track was hard and I while running downhill I fell over and went all muddy. Harbour Cone with its 315 meters is the highest peak of the Otago Peninsula and while steep, it was just a short walk up to the trig where mummy and I did all sorts of jumps and funny things for a selfie. When I went to walk Outram Glen, the smoke from Australia arrived, covered the sun and the sky was all orange and dark and one could not tell day from night.

Dunedin also has dozens of beaches. Tunnel beach had beautiful views from steep cliffs and awesome stairs cut into the rock tunnel, Brighton beach had seaweed and driftwood, St Clair beach had interesting pool and Sandfly beach sand flying all over the place, especially in my eyes.

Have I already mentioned that it rained a lot? Dunedin was lucky to have so many interesting museum – most of all I liked the Otago museum with its Science centre where I could try to build a house which would withstand an earthquake and watch butterflies of all sizes and colours.

I also went swimming – not once, but four times! When mummy suggested it for the first time, I was all against, but then I realised that the pool was called Moana and it had two shallow pools where I could play around and practice kicking with a floating board.

In the meantime, I celebrated Christmas with mummy and daddy and got a mountain of presents from both Little Jesus and Santa.

Last but not least I went to the movies. I saw A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon and it was so funny that I was laughing like crazy from the beginning till the end.

But as I said: when one is having so much one, days go by without us even noticing. Lucy´s family is coming back home, mummy´s holiday is almost over... but not mine! I still have two more weeks to enjoy (this time hopefully real) summer with daddy in Wanaka!

Your Annie


bottom of page