top of page

MT HUTT: SKIING IS HARD, BUT LESS HARD WITH THE SUN AND FRIENDS

I can tell you, skiing is pretty hard. First, there is a lot of gear necessary and all that gear you need to put on and wear all the time. Tights, ski pants, ski socks, merino t-shirt, fleece jacket, down jacket, ski jacket, warm hat, mittens… plus a helmet, goggles and last but not least heavy ski boots and even heavier skis. Second, snow is very slippery, especially when you have your skis on, and even a tiny little incline can make you go VERY fast. Third, when you want to go back up you need to use a magic carpet… and getting off it is not particularly easy.

To make a long story short: I did not enjoy skiing much when daddy took me to Ohau last weekend and I did not enjoy it when I started yesterday at Mt Hutt. But then my little Czech friends – Maty, Belinka and Anicka – joined me and the day became much better since. We gave it one more go and then went to eat our well deserved lunch. In the café we listened to the Wonky Donkey singer and his funny songs and even got to do some painting before we hit the slopes again. We only did two runs this time since skiing is super tiring and then had a snack and did some tobogganing. The sun finally peeked out of the clouds but at that time we were all dead tired so you won´t be too surprised when I tell you that I slept through the ride back home.

Sunday is Sunday so I had a nice sleep in and it was almost 11 when I got up Mt Hutt again. The weather was much better than the previous day and with the sun everything is simply so much brighter. And easier. The first two runs I was still holding on mummy but then I realized that without help it is much more fun and when one doesn´t hold someone else´s hand it is possible to go much faster. I simply put my hands on my knees, swished down the hill and laughed like crazy. I fell over only once when my skis crossed but I had my helmet on so I just got up and off I went again.

When mum finally managed to peel me off the lift, we sat on a bench, listened to music and soaked up the sun until it was time to go home.

Skiing is hard but it is much easier when the sun shines and when you have your friends around.

Your Annie


bottom of page