top of page

HOW IT ALL STARTED (AND CONTINUED)

If you look at my date of birth and subtract 9 months from it, it is clear that I was made in Sumatra in January 2016. That is when and where mum and dad were spending their holiday before dad left to Antarctica for a year.

Mum and dad met in June 2015 in New Zealand. After a few weeks of travelling mum was moving to Wanaka, a small town near Treble Cone, ski area where she was working that winter season, and was looking for a room to stay. Dad was hanging around, had nothing to do and didn´t have a room at all, but he was keen on going for a walk. And with a 6-hour-long walk to Meg Hut in snow and gale it all started. They spent most of that winter together, then dad left to Australia and mum visited him in Hobart. For Christmas and New Year they went to Pulau Weh: they were diving, riding motorbikes and – obviously - enjoying each other´s company.

On one nice sunny, hot and super humid day they said each other goodbye. Dad flew down south to chase penguins, mum continued travelling in Southeast Asia. Seasickness when diving the rough waters in Thailand turned out to be more permanent and when she got to Vietnam in the beginning of February there was no doubt anymore. I was on the way.

I was born on the 27th September in the Czech Republic. It took dad another 2,5 months to come and meet me for the first time (see the post From Brno to Prague and back...). Right, there are not many charter flights from Antarctica to Prague. We spent slightly more than a month in Europe, traveled a little bit and in the middle of January took a long flight to the other side of the world.

Four months we lived in Mount Cook Village in the middle of the South Island in New Zealand. Daddy was working and mum and I were going for walks, swimming, singing… and then the days got shorter and the winter came. Mum decided that we will spend it somewhere warm and experience something new.

We flew to Japan and visited my auntie. In Malaysia we met grandma on the beach. In Cambodia we saw many temples. And now we are in Australia – not far south from Sydney where I am looking after two cats, two dogs, two alpacas and eleven sheep.

Today I am turning 10 months, I love being outdoors and I enjoy camping. I am quite good at swimming, I went for a bike ride twice and I walk holding mum´s hand. Now I am also looking forward to going back home to New Zealand. But no worries – I have a few more plans.

I am Annie and this is my life.

* Updated on the 27th July 2017.


bottom of page